A blog about a kid. I like her.

Tuesday, January 09, 2007

Worn Out


It's early, early Wednesday. I haven't seen Aletheia since Sunday. That's the longest I've been away from her in her life. I won't see her until late Friday.

I'm away at the university for my doctoral work all week.

It hasn't been that hard to be away from her, because I've been busy doing interesting work, and I'm getting to reconnect with old friends and make new ones, and I have access to a genuine theological library for the first time in months. But still...

I miss the kid. Which is a weird experience, because I am, by nature, completely independent and self-sufficient. Introvert, loner, not-a-people-person. Don't get me wrong, I'm not the Unabomber. I just thrive pretty well all by myself. Especially in a real library. My wife and I dated long distance our entire relationship, and the seperations drove her crazy. Didn't bother me. I thought it was the best, easiest relationship I'd ever had.

You people-persons, small-talkers, glad-handers, for whom five minutes of silent downtime seems like something the Geneva Conventions should ban won't get this at all. I know. I really don't get you, either. But, anyway, the point is that I'm still up at half-past midnight, and I really ought to be writing something about the downsides of the Constantinian church, but I'm a little distracted thinking I wish I could have a couple of minutes with Allie. I called her tonight, and apparently she lit up and started listening intently when she heard my voice, but she's not exactly able to respond.

On the other hand, unlike less industrious dads, I have a whole picture-filled blog to review. So good on me.

This picture is a quiet moment from Friday, when she drifted off while sitting on my lap.

6 Months, 2 Days

2 comments:

Pat said...

I was surprised but glad to see you found time to post a picture and comment tonight. I'll get to see her again tomorrow - can't wait.

janjanmom said...

better stock up on chocolate mints before you go back...hee hee!

About Me

My photo
I'm a guy with a small daughter and a big bookcase. You can reach me at gate42b(AT)yahoo(DOT)com

We have changed

diapers since July 19, 2006